SPECTRE by Mark Lamoureux

Spectre.jpg
Spectre.jpg

SPECTRE by Mark Lamoureux

5.99

110 Pages
©2010

Publisher: Black Radish Books
Purchase includes: PDF

Read reviews on Amazon & Goodreads


"Lamoureux's disturbing and often distinctly American landscapes explore the interface between fantasy and fatalism, magic and machine. In the tradition of Duncan and Spicer, he is a metaphysical poet for our times, when even 'the cheerleader's dreams are sinister' and 'what was once all Wagner is now/ all Duran Duran.' What a pleasure to sift through baroque layers of ornament and debris with a poet of such keen and precise intelligence--one who in dark times 'carries a dark lamp'"—Elaine Equi.

"Populated with broke down carnival contraptions, abandoned amusement park rides, darkly oozing shell casings, and haunted noggins, the strangeland of SPECTRE is glazed with icy artifice in the form of twisted architectures, mutant effigies, and the creep of strange glaciers inside warped snow-dome brains.... This collection offers up a chilling calendar of sorts, each box a curio slot of new days 'like the old days, only creepier, less goddamn real'"—Juliet Cook.


Mark Lamoureux lives in Astoria, NY. His first full-length collection, ASTROMETRY ORGONON, was published by BlazeVOX Books in 2008. He is the author of numerous chapbooks, including: Poem Stripped of Artifice (winner of the New School 2007 Chapbooks Contest), 29 Cheeseburgers (Pressed Wafer), and City/Temple (Ugly Duckling Presse). His work has been published in print and online in FENCE, FOURTEEN HILLS, JUBILAT, DENVER QUARTERLY, ConduitCoconut, and many others. In 2006 he started Cy Gist Press, a micropress focusing on ekphrastic poetry. He received his MFA from the New School in 2007. He teaches composition in the CUNY system.

Add to Cart